2014 aspirations: September

My goal for September was for me to be starting at the college of my choice (which i was to have figured out by then).

I am writing from my new bed, in my new room, in my new college, in a new country! Goal fulfilled.

I am about to begin a joint honours course in Chinese Studies and Anthropology in Wales.

I am very excited. Today i moved in, explored the campus and got to know my flatmates for the first time. It feels so great to be starting something so exciting, new and more independent than before. This little room really feels like my first home as an individual adult.

I am already in love with Wales. Firstly because it is physically beautiful; the countryside is stunning and the towns and villages are all incredibly well kept and quaint.
Secondly because the people all seem so welcoming and friendly, and thirdly for the awesome cultural atmosphere that i feel as a foreigner here.

I know i am in a different country, which i really enjoy knowing. Getting to see all the signs and other texts in Welsh, hearing the accents people have and listening to them speak Welsh to each other.
Maybe i am just attracted to the frequent use of another language but especially for me, someone who is a foreign language fanatic, it is wonderful to get to experience around you.
Then again coming from Ireland, it is also just so nice to see that Welsh is used more here than we use Irish at home, but sad for us at the same time. One day i desperately want to go back and properly learn Irish, be able to feel comfortable hearing it and speaking it back. It is such an awful shame to go out into the world to learn languages knowing that i still feel hopeless at my own.

I am so excited to be another bit further from home and closer to the rest of the world. Going to boarding school was the best decision i ever made, if i hadn’t i doubt i would ever have considered studying abroad. Being able to step out from home at age 12 made it so much easier to go further now that i am 18. I am so lucky to have the opportunity for this experience while getting my degree.

The world is my oyster and all that jazz. Except i doubt i would like oysters, and i am vegetarian.

I will definitely try to learn Welsh while i get to be here.
pokemonandfeminism@outlook.com

Any thoughts or feedback?